Food and Drink Blessings

I have become aware recently that some people deign to say a blessing on their food before eating it. While I’m not sure if I would do this regularly, I may give it a try to see how it feels. I am a big fan of “let the system complicate itself.”

Oh Brighid beloved, for my food I thank You.
Oh Brighid beloved, for my drink I thank You.
Oh Brighid beloved, for my breath I thank You,
and for all that the day shall bring my way.

From Clann Bhride’s Book of Hours.

I adore Brighid with all my heart, but I’m not sure I would want to thank only Her for my food, given that I worship other gods as well. It would feel more appropriate to thank the Sacred Three, as I feel not just the gods, but the land spirits and those who have come before me are also responsible. The gods guide the land, the land spirits care for and tend to the health of the land, and the ancestors have developed the farming techniques to cultivate the land and bring the food to me. For myself, perhaps a more appropriate prayer might be this:

O Sacred Three, for the land I thank You.
O Sacred Three, for the crops I thank You.
O Sacred Three, for my food I thank You,
and for all the blessings I receive.

 

Leave a Reply

