Routine

One of my goals for this semester is to establish a morning and nightly prayer routine. The nightly routine is in question, and I have to see how it goes considering I’ll be taking five classes and possibly starting a job, but the morning prayers are definitely something I want to start incorporating into my daily life.

I have some prayers planned out, and though I would love to say them in Irish, I think I’m limited to English for now. Irish is something to be learned when my life has settled down more. I’m going to start out small, and say just a small prayer while cooking breakfast during the days I go to school, Monday through Thursday.

I will raise the hearth-fire
As Brighid Herself would.
The encirclement of Brighid
On the fire, and on the floor,
And on the household all.

Adapted from the Carmina Gadelica, #3.

Another possible prayer is this one, which I am incredibly fond of.

Hail to you, O Three,
Thanks to you, O Three,
Good health to you, O Three,
Each day and night,
Day and night.

Hail to you, O Three,
Peace to you, O Three,
A blessing to you, O Three,
Each night and day,
Night and day.

From Gaol Naofa’s Children and Family in Gaelic Polytheism, page 14. *

This one is adapted from a longer version from the same source, because I adore the cyclical version of it.

As it was,
As it is,
As it shall be
Forever.
O Sacred Three
of Grace!
O Sacred Three
of Grace!
With the ebb,
With the flow.
O Sacred Three
of Virtue!
O Sacred Three
of Virtue!
With the ebb,
With the flow.
O Sacred Three
of Grace!
O Sacred Three
of Grace!
As it was,
As it is,
As it shall be
Forever.

We’ll see how it goes. I’m very optimistic for the future.

 

*I do not approve of Gaol Naofa due to the transmisogynistic actions of its president. 

Leave a Reply

